Primary Contact
Rebecca Webber
rebecca.webber@vermont.gov
(802) 522-3658
Alternate Contact
Karen Knaebel
karen.knaebel@vermont.gov
(802) 522-5736
Law ComponentAction Item/AnswerNotes
Products Banned From Disposal/Landfill/Waste Stream Answering Machines, Cathode Ray Tube Devices, Computers, Digital Converter Boxes, DVD, E-device power cords and chargers, Fax, Game Consoles, Monitors, PDAs, Portable Music/Media Player, Printers, Stereo Equipment, Telephones, Televisions, VCRs
Covered Entities Any person giving 7 or fewer devices at one time, Household/Consumer, Non-profit/Charity, Schools, Small Businesses with Fewer Than 10 Employees
Screen Sizes Accepted Any screen defined as a monitor, television, or part of a computer, regardless of size, is covered. Phones of any size are not covered.
Products Covered Computer Peripherals, Desktops, Laptops, Monitors, Printers, Tablets, Televisions Manufacturers do NOT have to register for peripherals, but they are considered 'covered' under the collection program
Market Share Applicable Products Desktops, Laptops, Monitors, Printers, Tablets, Televisions
Statute https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/166
Recycler Application or Registration Fee $0.00
State Program Year January 1 - December 31
Annual Manufacturer Fee Deadline January 1 Manufacturers are responsible for paying two fees: 1. The first is a Registration fee, which will cover the Agency administrative costs of the Vermont program. This invoice will be billed annually in January. 2. The second fee is an Implementation fee, which covers the costs of collection and recycling of the electronic waste under the State Standard Plan. This fee is billed quarterly (in April, July, and October, and January) only to those manufacturers participating in the State Standard Plan. Both fees will be based on the manufacturer’s market share by weight of devices sold during the prior program year. Payments will be due within 45 days of the invoice date. No fees will be assessed or due at the time of registration.
Recycler Reporting Deadline January 31
Collector Reporting Deadline January 31 SSP Collectors’ annual report must include: • The types of electronic waste collected • The amount (by weight) of electronic waste
Manufacturer Reports Deadline March 1
Manufacturer Private Collection/Takeback/Recovery Program or Plan Deadline June 1
Annual Manufacturer Registration Deadline July 1 Manufacturers are responsible for paying two fees: 1. The first is a Registration fee, which will cover the Agency administrative costs of the Vermont program. This invoice will be billed annually in January. 2. The second fee is an Implementation fee, which covers the costs of collection and recycling of the electronic waste under the State Standard Plan. This fee is billed quarterly (in April, July, and October, and January) only to those manufacturers participating in the State Standard Plan. Both fees will be based on the manufacturer’s market share by weight of devices sold during the prior program year. Payments will be due within 45 days of the invoice date. No fees will be assessed or due at the time of registration.
Recycler Application Due Date October 1
Alternate Contact Karen Knaebel
karen.knaebel@vermont.gov
(802) 522-5736
Modification Forms Required For Changes to Existing Manufacturer Registrations No No formal modification form required, but registration shall be amended within 10 days after a change to any information included in the registration.
ERCC EcycleRegistration Accepted No
Paper Manufacturer Registrations Accepted No
Written Notice About Recycler/Collector (Municipal) Relationship No
Manufacturer Buying/Selling Pounds/Credits No
Manufacturer Shortfall Fees No
Collector or Municipal Plan Required No
Collection Fees No
Manufacturer Notice To Retailers No
Collection Limit NO LIMIT FOR COVERED ENTITIES - NO OBLIGATION TO PROVE IF COVERED ENTITY IF 7 or fewer COVERED DEVICES ARE DROPPED OFF
Primary Contact Rebecca Webber
rebecca.webber@vermont.gov
(802) 522-3658
Retailer Requirements Retailers shall not offer covered electronic devices for sale unless the products are labeled and registered. A retailer who sells new covered electronic devices shall provide information to customers describing where and how they may recycle electronic waste and advising them of opportunities and locations for the convenient collection of electronic waste for the purpose of recycling.
Target Type Statewide total lbs target
Disposal/Landfill/Waste Stream Ban Yes
Pounds Collection Target for Manufacturers Yes Statewide total lbs target
Collector Registration Required Yes
Product Labeling Required Yes
Manufacturer Registration Required Yes
Market Share Yes Manufacturer registration and implementation fee are calculated using market share. The Electronic Waste Recycling Program goal for a manufacturer that submits a plan shall be the product of the relevant statewide recycling goal multiplied by the manufacturer's market share of covered electronic devices.
Manufacturer Private Collection/Takeback/Recovery Program or Plan Yes
Manufacturer Recycling Obligation or Goal Yes The Electronic Waste Recycling Program goal for a manufacturer that submits a plan shall be the product of the relevant statewide recycling goal multiplied by the manufacturer's market share of covered electronic devices. A manufacturer that submits a plan may only count electronic waste received from covered entities toward the Program goal.
Enforcement Authority for Sale of Unregistered Products Yes Failure to complete registration by July 1, 2018 is punishable by a maximum penalty of $170,000.00 under 10 V.S.A. §8003(a) and §8010(c)(1). It will also result in VT retailers being prohibited under 10 V.S.A. §7553(a) from selling covered electronic devices effective July 1st.
Initial Manufacturer Registration/Fee Required Yes Manufacturers are responsible for paying two fees: 1. The first is a Registration fee, which will cover the Agency administrative costs of the Vermont program. This invoice will be billed annually in January. 2. The second fee is an Implementation fee, which covers the costs of collection and recycling of the electronic waste under the State Standard Plan. This fee is billed quarterly (in April, July, and October, and January) only to those manufacturers participating in the State Standard Plan. Both fees will be based on the manufacturer’s market share by weight of devices sold during the prior program year. Payments will be due within 45 days of the invoice date. No fees will be assessed or due at the time of registration.
Recycler Application or Registration Required Yes A business that collects devices solely to reuse, refurbish, and repair is not considered a recycler. Recyclers located outside the state of Vermont, but that recycle electronic devices collected in Vermont would not need to register.
   


Electronics Recycling Coordination Clearinghouse (ERCC)

139 Main Street, Suite 401
Brattleboro, VT 05301
https://www.ecyclecleclearinghouse.org

For additional contact information, please visit our Contact Us page.

e-Cycle Compliance Calendar © 2019

Copyright Notice - All copyrightable text and graphics, the selection, arrangement, and presentation of all materials, and the overall design of this web page are ©2019 NCER and their affiliates. All rights reserved. Permission is granted to download and print materials from this website for the purpose of viewing, reading, and retaining for reference. Any other copying, distribution, retransmission, or modification of information or materials on this site, whether in electronic or hard copy form, without the express prior written permission of NCER is strictly prohibited.

Disclaimer - The materials available at this web site are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. NCER and their affiliates are not responsible for any data inaccuracies within the website. Please contact the state e-cycling contact directly for clarification or links to current compliance information.